APNM COMPOSER: Sheree Clement

Sheree Clement’s music has been featured in the Tanglewood Music Festival, performed by Speculum Musicae, the Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra in Boston, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, the Canyonlands Ensemble in Salt Lake City, Utah, the Chamber Players of the League/ISCM and various other groups in New York City.

She has composed works for orchestra, chamber orchestra, chamber ensembles with and without voice, string quartet, solo piano, and analog and digital electronic media, including scores for animation shorts. Her published works are available from G. Schirmer / AMP and APNM. Her Chamber Concerto is available from New World Records on CRI #617.

Sheree received the Goddard Leiberson Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, the League-ISCM Composers Competition, several ASCAP awards, the Grant award for composition at the Tanglewood Music Center, and fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the Composers’ Conference (when it was in Johnson, Vermont), and the MacDowell Colony.

Born in l955 in Baltimore, Maryland, she studied piano, music theory and composition as a young person at the Peabody Institute and the Junior Conservatory Camp in East Burke,Vermont. At the University of Michigan she studied Music Composition with William Albright, William Bolcom, George Wilson, and Leslie Bassett, and received a B. Mus. and M. Mus. in 1978, with a minor in Electronic Music. She completed her D.M.A. in Music Composition at Columbia University, where she studied with Mario Davidovsky. While there, in addition to composing for traditional instruments, she composed works for analog tape at the Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center.

Recent projects include music for animation shorts created by students at the Renaissance Charter School in Jackson Heights, NY, in association with the Children’s Museum for the Arts and a requested trio for viola, ‘cello and piano.

Email the composer || Visit the composer's personal website

All APNM Works by Sheree Clement Duration Year Materials Available Sound Sample
PIANO PRELUDES 5 - 7 piano solo
8 min
PIANO PRELUDES 8 - 11 piano solo
11 min

PIANO PRELUDES 12 -14 piano solo

9 min

ROUND TRIP TICKET fl/picc, cl/bscl, 2 percussion, pno, vln, vc

13 min
score, parts
8 min
score, parts
VARIATIONS / OBSESSIONS fl, cl, tpt, vln, vc
10 min
score, parts
WHEREWITH I STRIVE mezzo-soprano, harp, flute
12 min
score, parts