APNMMUSIC.ORG

NINA@APNMMUSIC.ORG

email

Press Release: November 15, 2013

APNM Announces Composition Concert Winners

New York, November 15, 2013: The Association for the Promotion of New Music (APNM) holds an annual Composition Call for Scores Contest seeking public submissions from APNM members and composers around the world. Winners are rewarded with performance and membership. During the 2013-14 Call, APNM received 135 submissions. The adjudicating panel (Hayes Biggs, Eleanor Cory, Mario Davidovsky, Erik Lundborg, Idith Meshulam, and Kristin Norderval) selected 15 works to be programmed on two concerts.

Selected compositions:

Ashkan Behzadi – az Hoosh mi.. (soprano, violin)

Taylor Brook (APNM member) – L'érotisme sacrée (flute, piano, electronics)

Chin Ting Chan – Icebergs (piano trio)

Girolamo Deraco – Un distico si sfalda appena (soprano, piano, percussion)

Stephen Dydo (APNM member) - Sandy Hook (violin, piano)

Nathan Heidelberger – been cold a long time (soprano, alto flute, piano)

Christopher Hopkins – Voices in the Autumn Wind (soprano, piano)

Ed Jacobs (APNM member) – *The Line Between* (soprano, electronics)

Martin Kennedy – Trivial Pursuits (violin, piano)

Eun Young Lee – *Wandering* (alto flute)

Mei-Fang Lin - Interaction (piano, electronics)

Nicholas Omiccioli – falling through infinity (flute, cello, piano)

Laurie San Martin (APNM Member) - Two Pieces for Piano and Percussion

Stephen Siegel – *Into the Body of the Light* (piano)

Harry Stafylakis - Memento Mori (soprano, violin, piano)

Ensemble Pi, with guest soprano Kristin Norderval, will perform the works by Behzadi, Brook, Deraco, Kennedy, Lee, Omiccioli, San Martin, and Siegel, along with a new trio by David Fulmer, on the closing concert of APNM's 2013-14 season. The concert will be held at the Tenri Cultural Institute in New York City on May 23, 2014 at 8pm. The remaining works will be performed on the first concert of the APNM 2014-15 season (details to be announced).

About APNM:

The Association for the Promotion of New Music (APNM) is a community of American composers with the purpose of sharing common musical values and creating a network of professional support. APNM fosters the compositional creativity of its members by offering performances of their music, publication services (through Subito Music Corp.), and promotional visibility. The composers collective was founded in 1975 by composer and conductor Jacques-Louis Monod as part of the Guild of Composers, a publishing and concert producing organization. After a number of years when APNM acted primarily as a publisher, the organization resumed concert activities in 2009 to promote the music of our members and to bring visibility to a younger group of composers who reflect new approaches to music composition. Between 2009 and 2013, APNM gave two concerts per season, performed by ensembles including Ensemble Pi, the Argento Chamber Ensemble, and David Fulmer's Second Instrumental Unit as well as a concert honoring Mario Davidovsky's 80th birthday. Concert programming is the result of open Call for Scores competitions adjudicated by a panel of Board members and leaders of our collaborating ensembles, resulting in concerts of music shared by members and non-members. The winners of the competition receive automatic membership in APNM and a complimentary year of dues.

Board of Directors:

Eleanor Cory (President); Bruce Taub (Secretary); Nina C. Young (General Manager); Erik Lundborg (Marketing and Publicity Director); Idith Meshulam (Concert Director); Hayes Biggs (Admissions Chair); David Glaser; Joseph Hudson; Tom James; Marjorie Merryman; Eric Sawyer; Maurice Wright; Rolv Yttrehus