2015-16 Call for Scores Winners!

APNM is pleased to announce the winners of its 2015-16
Call for Scores Composition Competition. We received
78 high-quality submissions and sincerely thank all
all of the composers who submitted their music. The
winning works will be performed on two concerts, in
May 2016 at the National Opera Center and
the second in the fall of 2016 (details TBA).

The adjudicating panel (Carl Bettendorf, Eleanor Cory,
Erik Lundborg, Idith Meshulam, and Marjorie
Merryman selected 8 works:

Robert Briggs - Tune My Heart
Alice Shields (APNM)- The River of Memory
Matthew Burtner - Flute Code
Kai-Young Chan - Mieko
George Christofi - Tethys
Tonia Ko - Plush Earth in Four Pieces
Matthew Peterson - Näcken
Tomasz Skwerers - Hesitation

March 21, 2016 PRESS RELEASE

2015-16 Annual Call for Scores Competition Information

The APNM 2018 Call for Electronic Music Pieces Competition - IS NOW OPEN

APNM's annual Call for Electronic Music Pieces Competition is open to both current APNM members and non-members. The winners of the competition will have their pieces diffused/performed at APNM's Annual Electronic Concert on April 12, 2018, at the National Opera Center in New York City. Winners who are not currently APNM members will also receive an invitation to join with a year of complimentary membership.

Please submit original pieces for fixed 2-channel audio, possibly with video, with optional live flute or violin, 3 to 10 minutes in duration. Application materials must be received by Tuesday, February 27, 2018.

For each submitted work, please include
Entry fee via Paypal (PDF receipt as an attachment)
Application form (see below)
Score (if applicable – PDF)
MP3 sound files
An brief description of your piece, including logistics and software used (PDF)

Application materials, including the PayPal receipt, should be emailed to michal@apnmmusic.org.

Upon selection, composers must commit to attending the concert on April 12, 2018, in New York City.

Application fee:
Standard Fee: $15
Students Fee: $10 (include proof of enrollment or school ID with email submission)
APNM Member Fee: FREE

PayPal submission:

Application Fee
Last name – Title of Work

Tuesday, February 27, 2018, 11:59pm (received by)

Download the application form here.

Email questions to:
Michal Massoud, General Manager

Selection Process:
The selection committee consists of Carl Bettendorf, Stephen Dydo, and Alice Shields. They will review the materials and select 4-5 pieces to be programmed on the concert on April 12, 2018. In keeping with APNM’s mission to promote the music of its members, two of these concert slots will be reserved solely for existing members. Winning composers must commit to attending the concert. Results will be announced around March 15, 2018.