2013-14 Call for Scores Winners!

APNM is pleased to announce the winners of its 2013-14
Call for Scores Composition Competition. We received
over 130 high-quality submissions and sincerely thank all
all of the composers who submitted their music. The
winning works will be performed on two concerts, the
first on May 23, 2014 at the Tenri Cultural Institute and
the second in the fall of 2014 (details TBA).

The adjudicating panel (Hayes Biggs, Eleanor Cory, Mario
Davidovsky, Erik Lundborg, Idith Meshulam, and Kristin
Norderval selected 15 works:

Ashkan Behzadi - az Hoosh mi..
Taylor Brook (APNM)- L'érotisme sacrée
Chin Ting Chan - Icebergs
Girolamo Deraco - Un distico si sfalda appena
Stephen Dydo (APNM) - Sandy Hook
Nathan Heidelberger - been cold a long time
Christopher Hopkins - Voices in the Autumn Wind
Ed Jacobs (APNM) - The Line Between
Martin Kennedy - Trivial Pursuits
Eun Young Lee - Wandering
Mei-Fang Lin - Interaction
Nicholas Omiccioli - falling through infinity
Laurie San Martin (APNM) - 2 Pieces for Piano and Percussion
Stephen Siegel - Into the Body of the Light
Harry Stafylakis - Memento Mori

Nov.15, 2013 PRESS RELEASE

2012-13 Annual Call for Scores Competition Information

The APNM 2015-16 Call for Scores Composition Competition - IS NOW OPEN

APNM's annual Call for Scores Composition Competition is open to both current APNM members and non-members. The winners of the competition will receive a performance under the artistic direction of Idith Meshulam with Ensemble Pi in New York City. Winners who are not currently APNM members will also receive an invitation to join with a year of complimentary membership.

Please submit pieces with a duration of ten minutes or less for 1-5 players (see instrumentation below). Application materials must be received by Monday, January 18, 2016. For each submitted work include both an entry fee and an application form (see below). Scores (pdfs), mp3s, application forms, and PayPal receipts should be submitted electronically, via Dropbox. If you need to send hard copies, please email in advance to make necessary arrangements.

Upon selection, composers must commit to attending the concert.

Available instrumentation (1-5 players):
flute, french horn, violin, cello, and piano

Electronics permitted. 2 speakers, mixer, audio interface, condenser microphones available. The composer must provide all other materials. It is the composer's obligation to arrange appropriate rehearsal methods and equipment iwth the ensemble prior to the dress rehearsal.

Application fee:
Standard Fee: $15
Students Fee: $10 (include proof of enrollment or school ID with email submission)
APNM Member Fee: $7

PayPal submission:

2015-16 Call for Scores Fee Type
Last name & Title of Piece

Electronic submission: :
Fee submissions should be made via PayPal on this site.
Upload ZIP file of application materials to: https://www.dropbox.com/request/tQtoA9OntcRWTES3Uo7e

Materials sent by email will not be considered.

Email questions to:
Adam Vidiksis, General Manager

Monday, January 18, 2016, 11:59pm (received by)

Download the application form here.

Selection Process:
A committee consisting of APNM non-submitting members (rotating every year), Ensemble Pi's Artistic Director Idith Meshulam, Eleanor Cory, Hayes Biggs, Carl Bettendorf and Marjorie Merryman, Provost at the Manhattan School of Music, will review the materials and select 5-7 pieces to be programmed on the concert. In keeping with APNM's mission to promote the music of its members, two of these concert slots will be reserved solely for existing members. Winning composers must commit to attending the concert. Results will be announced on February 15th.